It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Season 5

Not much to report here, just laughing my ass off as per usual. Upon completing this season, I am pleased to announce that I am fully caught up with this series. I have seen every episode, and I have loved nearly every minute of it. Even the yelling. Season 5, much like Season 2, is the show at its brashest and most offensive. I mean, it’s always brash and offensive, but I think this season goes further than some of the others. Within the confines of these 12 tight episodes, the gang manages to treat both itself and whoever it comes into contact with like complete crap. Dirt. Trash. In fact, this season is less about drinking (save for the season finale) and barring, and more about taking advantage of anyone who will benefit the gang. Even if that means someone else within the actual gang. (It’s usually Dee. Kaitlin Olson deserves a medal.)

“The D.E.N.N.I.S. System” is a perfect example of this circle of selfishness, with Dennis (Glenn Howerton) describing in detail his acronym’d approach to seducing women. His plan uses Mac (Rob McElhenney) as a decoy, but later on he learns that Mac uses his decoy position to get Dennis’ sloppy seconds, and Frank then cleans up the thirds. It’s disgusting. I love it. Same goes for “The Gang Gives Frank an Intervention,” wherein the gang looks outward for the victim of its antics, even though from the title it would appear that Frank (Danny DeVito) is in the hot seat. Not so. The five manage to berate an innocent interventionist enough to make the idea of helping them seem completely worthless. Yet another example of their psychopathic behaviour is contained within the aforementioned season finale, “The Gang Reignites the Rivalry,” in which the boners (Dee’s term, not mine) destroy the interior of a rival bar-turned-restaurant, then transfer their anger to Dennis’ former frat house. Howerton is particularly manic in this episode; how he’s not won an award for playing the most narcissistic and suave person on television is beyond me. I feel the same way about Charlie Day; his lawyering performance in “The World Series Defense,” along with his donning of the Green Man costume, will never not be hilarious.

The only thing missing from this season was the McPoyle twins, whose barfy, milk-chugging presence is always oddly comforting. Is it weird that I miss them? Because I do. The fact that Charlie invented kitten mittens and Mac invented the dick towel within one episode, though, completely makes up for it.

And also, this image of Frank wearing skinny jeans.
hip

