Hot Fuzz

Maybe I had high expectations for this movie. (I did.) Maybe I had unrealistic standards set for Simon Pegg and Nick Frost. (I did.) Whatever the case, this movie disappointed me. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either.

I think I hated it because I expected to laugh a lot more, and while I’m sure it had its funny bits, they didn’t stand out to me. Then again, I’m also sure that the funny bits were incorporated into all of the over-the-top action sequences, which were impressive but easy to tune out from. (I’m a chick. Whatever.) Nick Frost always delivers as the lovable lug cop, and Pegg was surprisingly believable as the uptight perfectionist cop, but I prefer him as the nerdy background guy, the quasi-anti-hero. You know, the guy from Spaced. (Okay, maybe I just liked Spaced more.)

It pains me a little to say this, but Hot Fuzz might have contained too much Pegg, Frost, and car shrapnel, and not enough Martin Freeman, Steve Coogan, and Bill Nighy. Their cameos happened in rapid succession, as Pegg’s higher-ups, and I missed them all instantly once the scene was over.

Going back to that “car shrapnel” thing, this movie must have had a huge budget, because there were car crashes and explosions all over the place, especially in that last 30-minute-ish climax action sequence. Whoa. Director Edgar Wright sure does know how to have fun with chases, and bombs, and the like, so at least the shots of these otherwise-cliche images were unexpected and creative.

Going back to that “funny bits” thing, Hot Fuzz actually did make me laugh. The whole concept of the misspellings in the town pleased my former-editor-and-linguistics-major self greatly, for example. And this moment in particular deserves to be immortalized — I’d like to think that Pegg took some inspiration from Ace Ventura, but it might be wishful thinking.

In any case, I’m curious about the third film in their Three Flavours Cornetto Trilogy, The World’s End, because I admire the fact that these dudes all put their nerdy spin on different genres. Upon quick glance at the movie’s Wikipedia synopsis, it sounds like it could be a way better version of Beerfest, so I’m on board.

One comment

  1. Shyama Deo · September 21, 2012

    Howdy! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with
    us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and great style and design.

Comments are closed.