Spaced

Having received the recommendation to watch this wee (short-running, British) comedy series from two Very Trusted Sources, and having watched said comedy series, and having enjoyed it, I think I can safely say that I’m in an exclusive club of people now. And that club contains only people who know and love Spaced.

Of course, I’ve got a ways to go before I can quote it like the pros. But I completely understand the affections that Spaced fans have for the fourteen precious episodes. Simon Pegg and Jessica Hynes (nee Stevenson) and Edgar Wright created this slightly surreal but mostly real world somewhere in London, and if you’re any semblance of a pop culture geek, you can probably relate to Tim and Daisy’s goings-on. Theirs is a love story, but not really a romantic one. And it’s all summed up at the end very ambiguously and perfectly. I won’t spoil it, because I think it’s worth a watch.

Speaking of “watch,” the following second-series clip stands out. Press play. But know that there are so many more moments wrapped up in this world, from [get ready for out-of-context descriptions!] Brian’s (Mark Heap) brilliant, laconic presence in the flat to Marsha’s (Julia Deakin) constant mumbling and double-wine-glass-fisting to Mike’s (Nick Frost) ever-present yellow aviators. Each of these “secondary” characters is really a primary one in Daisy and Tim’s twentysomething lives. I only wish I could have been their neighbo(u)r. Or, at the very least, Daisy’s writing partner.

Shit.

2 comments

  1. Matthew Petty (@muteboy) · June 18, 2012

    Did you, like me, tear up a little as the music played during the final credits? Best use of Lemon Jelly ever: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBLWDF2nfP8

    • stef · June 20, 2012

      Yes, and also when they put their heads on each other’s shoulders. I’m such a sap.

Comments are closed.