Super High Me

As a loyal listener of the Doug Loves Movies podcast, I figured I was long overdue in watching this faux-cumentary (go ahead and say that one out loud). To put it bluntly, it was enlightening.

Damn, two good puns just happened. I hope you caught that before I pointed it out awkwardly. Anyway. Over the last six months or so, Doug Benson has sort of grown on me. I was initially drawn to his podcast because of the sheer star power of all the guests he was bringing on and because of the fact that he was playing a movie-and-pop-culture related game and because the whole thing was improvised. Those are three huge wins in my book. But I stayed with the podcast because I absolutely love how he interacts with his guests. As has been said by many others, he’s one of the few comedians who can get away with one-upping people and, as he proves on The Benson Interruption, cutting them off in the middle of their jokes. I can’t quite pinpoint why he’s so damn good at it, but it might have something to do with the fact that he’s a generally mellow guy, and that might have something to do with the fact that he’s high basically all the time.

Super High Me isn’t so much a parody of Supersize Me as it is an extensive, silly experiment in recreational drugs. Doug Benson proved that, at least for him, marijuana doesn’t really have positive or negative effects on his health, so the fact that he prefers to be on it most of the time really shouldn’t be a big deal to anyone. I’m not a stoner myself, but I applaud him for sharing this sentiment, because I agree with it. Smoking the occasional doobie (how old am I?) really shouldn’t be the huge ordeal that it seems to be to most of the world, and I think stoners have the unfortunate disadvantage of not really being able to make their case because, well, they’re high all the time. This movie does as lucid a job as possible of explaining why the world needs to chill out on this issue.

Also, it’s really funny, because Doug Benson is really funny, and he invites other funny people in for commentary. So there’s that part. I have to say, I admire Benson for his ability or honed skill or superb acting or whatever it is that allows him to be so precise and clear despite the fact that he’s high all the time. Maybe the pot actually makes him that way. It’s hard to tell. But he certainly carries on awesome, witty conversations no matter what state he’s in. This movie is full of ’em, along with a few ganja-related lessons. Not bad at all.

3 comments

  1. Matthew · December 20, 2011

    Have you seen the Santa Size Me trailers for Doug’s contest? I’m kind of disappointed.

  2. stef · December 20, 2011

    Not yet! I’m pumped for the 12 Guests of Christmas episodes of DLM, though…

  3. Matthew · December 21, 2011

    Yes, his live stuff is his best, especially when it’s chaotic!

Comments are closed.