Childrens Hospital, Seasons 1 & 2

I’m going to employ a tired phrase here, but bear with me. All the cool kids are doing Childrens Hospital. I don’t mean “watching,” actually, because I don’t think many people watch this show. Just enough to keep it on the air at whatever the hell timeslot, or something. I really did mean “doing,” because this show is basically a who’s-who of the best names in Hollywood that not everybody knows about. Rob Corddry is the creator and star, the creepy clown guy, and the mastermind behind this oddly brilliant parody of all television shows. And then there’s Lake Bell, Ken Marino, Megan Mullally, Rob Huebel, Henry Winkler, Malin Ackerman, Erinn Hayes (who I swore was Rose Byrne, whoops, all white people look alike)… not to mention the hoardes of guest stars, like Nick Offerman, Nick Kroll, Ed Helms, Adam Scott, Jon Hamm, Eva Longoria… damn. These really are the people you should be watching, though. Not those silly other shows, like House and Grey’s Anatomy and whatnot. Am I allowed to insult them if I’ve never actually watched them? Probably not, but screw it.

This is a show you should probably watch in the comfort of your house, because it’s extremely offensive and disturbing out of context. The clown makeup thing is freaky, the jokes are brash, the special effects are janky, and from far away, it all resembles real television. There’s the genius. It makes fun of TV so blatantly and yet so subtly at the same time. Michael Cera’s voiceovers are actually my favorite part, because they’re so non sequitur. Not sure if I should use “so” before that latin phrase, but screw it.

Another upside to this show? Each episode is about 10 minutes long. It was originally designed as a web series, but I bet you already knew that. Anyway, it’s good for short attention spa–puppy! Be right back.

Where was I? Oh, yes. Wacky comedy from the mind of Rob Corddry. Should be watched, at the very least so you can have something “hip” and “cool” to bring up with your friends at a party. Don’t act like that’s not why you were going to watch.

