Pardon my delinquency, but FX is continuing to kill it right now.

You’ll have to excuse my lateness. I rarely find myself home at 10 p.m. on Thursday nights, and even when I do, I can’t seem to find the channel anymore. (I got rid of my nice cable, but not to worry, I’ll be moving soon.) In any case, I’ve had to rely on Hulu for my summer FX fixes. Thanks to the ‘lu, I’m 4 episodes in to Wilfred and one into the second season of Louie. And the only thing I’m disappointed in is that last part. (Seriously? A month delay? Weak.)

Onto more positive topics. Wilfred was, and continues to be, a pleasant surprise. I wasn’t sure I’d like it, because I’ve never had any opinion about Elijah Wood one way or the other, but it’s just weird and intriguing enough to reel me back in each week. So are Wood’s baby blues. And so is Jason Gann as the titular dog man, Wilfred. It’s hard to describe why I like this show. It’s not hysterically funny, but it does make me laugh out loud at least once an episode. And the surrealism that the show uses to make Wilfred and Ryan (Wood) seem like believable friends is relatively inconsistent. But it’s unlike anything else on television right now, and it’s about a guy who seems real, with real insecurities and delusions, and about how we all sort of wish we could talk to animals. Just watch it from the beginning and you’ll see what I mean.

And then there’s Louie. Shit, I have missed this man. The season premiere, “Pregnant,” only made me want more. Wilfred definitely took a page from CK (or was it the other way around, since Wilfred is an adaptation?) in that both shows balance humor and sentimentality in the best possible way. I mean, I know that most good shows do that, but comparing these two with, say, Modern Family, is like comparing apples and… apples doused in vodka. FX comedies never let you get too comfortable with a nice moment. But they don’t always break the nice moments, either. They just change the subject or the scene, and let the moment exist, and forget about them. Whereas most network comedies linger on nice moments, and sometimes kill them. Anyway, Louie might be the closest portrayal of real parenthood ever to grace the small screen. I say this, of course, not as a parent myself, so I’m hardly a believable source. But I think it’s important to recognize that the show isn’t about fatherhood or parenting or anything like that in particular. It’s just about Louie, and his life happens to revolve around kids. It doesn’t consume him so as to consume the show. It just… is. And that’s the difference between it and a show like Parenthood, which is good but a little preachy sometimes. Louis CK isn’t a preachy guy. He’s just bitter and brilliant.

I can’t wait for more of this. Make more. Now. Go, FX, go.

