Horrible Bosses

Whoa, guess what? I have a new favorite movie. It’s not Super 8 or The Tree of Life. It’s not Friends With Benefits, either. It’s a little John Francis Daley-partially-penned number called Horrible Bosses, and it made me laugh my ass off.

Daley (Sam Weir! Lance Sweets! What can this guy not do?) and his writing partners totally scored by casting Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, and Charlie Day, of course. These three guys are hysterical individually, what with their awesome natural comedic genius talents and their extensive television experiences on Arrested Development, Saturday Night Live, and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, respectively. It’s not always easy to put three strong funnymen in a movie together and expect the chemistry and the laughs to just happen, but in the case of this movie, it did in spades. I think it’s because none of them exude “leader” over the other, but they’re all big enough to carry a scene by themselves. The results are hysterical.

The premise is a bit ridiculous, but it makes for some great comedy. The three dudes play three dudes stuck in jobs they like with bosses they hate, all played brilliantly by Kevin Spacey, Jennifer Aniston, and Colin Farrell. Spacey’s an asshole, Aniston’s a perv, and Farrell’s a cokehead, the last stereotype of which has never been funnier. In the process of concocting a scheme to eliminate said bosses from existence, the three dudes come across Motherfucker Jones, played very Mike Tyson-ly by Jamie Foxx. And let’s not forget babyfaced Daley appearing in the background. Sigh.

But back to the three dudes. I seriously can’t decide which one I like more. Before this movie, my default was Bateman, if only for his incredible presence on my favorite show of all time, Arrested Development. He brings his same brand of dry, logical, sarcastic timing to this role, and it’s perfect. But then there’s Day, who grew on me after a few screamy episodes of IASIP. Charlie Kelly went from being my least favorite character to the hands-down reason I watch the show. He’s got such a great comedic voice (literally, he’s got this raspy whine that makes everything funnier), but he’s also got such great mature insight that contrasts so well with his man-child actions. And then there’s Sudeikis, who seems like the grown-up frat boy that everyone actually wanted to hang around. He’s Bradley Cooper, except you can actually approach him and have a conversation without worrying about how much you’re sweating through your clothes.

If I haven’t made myself clear already, see this movie. It’s got plenty of dude humor, but not as much as a standard frat pack movie. In fact, it’s kind of refreshing to see a guy comedy that’s not filled with penis jokes and farts and Will Ferrell, but instead, references to movies like Strangers on a Train and songs like “That’s Not My Name.” I can’t wait to buy this DVD.

