I’ve been listening to other comedy podcasts

Several short days ago, I wrote about my love-hate relationship with The Nerdist podcast and, specifically, with Chris Hardwick as its loudmouthed host. I’m happy and Emersonially proud to state that I have changed my mind. Well, sort of. The point is that The Nerdist is now my favorite comedy podcast. I love Matt, Jonah, and Chris, and I will continue to listen—and potentially be their only female and/or twentysomething listener. Dig it.

Why this change of heart? It’s simple, really. Comparatively speaking, Chris Hardwick is the most fair and balanced comedy podcast host I’ve listened to thus far. I realize I’m not a longtime podcast listener, so there’s a really good chance that I don’t know what I’m talking about. But his arrogance, while overbearing at times, is also part of his charm, and his nerdiness more than makes up for it. The other thing I like about him is how transparent he is about his past alcoholism—he is an open book, and that’s something to respect. Even more awesome is where he draws the line, which is at misogyny. He’s a dude who loves sick jokes but loves women even more, and his comedy reflects that.

Marc Maron and Jimmy Pardo, on the other hand, make me want to punch my newly purchased iPod. The only reason I listen to them is because of the incredible guests they manage to score, despite their rude, disgusting, egomaniacal schticks. Maron is less offensive than Pardo; at least Maron shuts up and lets his guests talk (after a 10-minute, unfunny rant at the beginning of each podcast episode). But Jimmy Pardo is really the worst. He loves the sound of his own voice so much that he’ll fill dead air on the podcast with his nasally “uhhhh” as he’s trying to come up with something inevitably stupid to say. I wish he’d close up shop and let his sidekick do more of the talking. Oh, and maybe let his guests get a word in edgewise, too.

I’ve also been listening to Pop My Culture, per the recommendation of Nathan Fillion on the Nerdist podcast, and Doug Loves Movies. I have to say that Pop My Culture is generally pleasant, with its random questions and lighthearted theme, but Cole Stratton can sometimes take on Chris Hardwick’s know-it-all stance and it grates on me. Vanessa Ragland, on the other hand, is delightful. Generally, though, I enjoy this podcast because it’s endlessly creative, and it seems like the guests are having a nice time shooting the shit. Doug Loves Movies is hilarious, and I’d love to attend a live taping of it at some point. Doug Benson gathers 3-5 celebrities in a room, plays the Leonard Maltin game with them (a quiz show of his own making), and lets them run wild. The Swardson/Kroll/Hardwick episode is hysterical. Just saying.

So there you have it, folks. I’ve made the foray into podcasting, and this is what I have to say for myself. What say ye?

17 comments

  1. here's the site · July 9, 2012

    The majority of of the opinions on this blog page dont make sense.

  2. lawn installation muskego · July 9, 2012

    This blog has got some very useful information on it! Thanks for helping me!

  3. cosmetic dentistry nyc · July 10, 2012

    Great Stuff, do you currently have a twitter profile?

  4. wedding venues in devon · July 10, 2012

    Weird , this page shows up with a dark hue to it, what shade is the primary color on your site?

  5. via · July 10, 2012

    This blog site is very good! How can I make one like this ?

  6. How did you make a blog look this sick!? Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  7. website · July 11, 2012

    Just to let you know your web site looks a little bit strange in Safari on my pc using Linux .

  8. advertisers · July 12, 2012

    Could you email me with some hints & tips on how you made your website look this cool , I would be thankful.

  9. site preview · July 12, 2012

    If you dont mind, where do you host your blog? I am shopping for a great web host and your web site appears to be quick and up all the time

  10. missing my soldier quotes · July 12, 2012

    Have you considered adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it might enhance everyones understanding.

  11. purchase secured loans · July 12, 2012

    Have you given any consideration at all with converting your webpage in to Spanish? I know a small number of translaters here which might help you do it for free if you want to get in touch with me.

  12. read about louis a. capazzi · July 12, 2012

    rather beneficial material, on the whole I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, cheers

  13. click here · July 12, 2012

    I Will have to visit again when my course load lets up – nonetheless I am getting your Rss feed so i can read your site offline. Thanks.

  14. Even though I actually like this publish, I believe there was an punctuational error close to the end of the third sentence.

  15. success · July 13, 2012

    Just discovered this blog through Bing, what a way to brighten up my week!

  16. surprisingly helpful material, overall I imagine this is worthy of a book mark, thank you

  17. appstar complaint · July 16, 2012

    This blog site has got some extremely useful information on it! Thanks for sharing it with me.

Comments are closed.