New York, I Love You

One thing’s for sure: This series-of-short-films film wasn’t nearly as good as the original. The different movies didn’t really flow into each other, the realms of reality and fiction and all that were sort of blurred, and the editing was… off. Yet I still enjoyed watching it. I guess that means I’m a romantic, eh?

There’s something about ethereal, couple-filled footage of big cities that captivates me. I’m a firm believer that big urban spacesโ€”like New York, of course, but also Chicago, San Francisco, Madrid, to name a few I’ve actually been toโ€”have this unique, intangible, romantic quality about them. And even though this movie wasn’t assembled seamlessly, it definitely conveyed this quality that New York has. People say Paris is the most romantic city in the world, and maybe that’s why Paris Je T’aime was made first. But I think New York is incredibly seductive, because of its infinite possibilities. How can you not be taken in by that?

A few of these short films, in particular, struck me. I loved both of Natalie Portman’s; in one, she was the wife of a strict Hasidic Jew, and she directed the other, about a divorced, doting dad. These are two worlds I know nothing about, and yet in those 10 or so minutes spent on each, I felt like I was in on some sort of secret. The other one that I loved, and the only one that made me tear up, involved Cloris Leachman and Eli Wallach, bickering as an old married couple is wont to do. Simple, yet it melted me. Many other actors I enjoy watching, like Rachel Bilson, Chris Cooper, Maggie Q, Shia LaBeouf, and Andy Garcia, also made appearances. It’s nice to see so many talented faces under one roof, I suppose.

I do wish this film had turned out much better, because New York is a city that deserves every film made about its ability to seduce. And maybe that’s the problem with this oneโ€”it was made too late. We’ve seen too many stories about New York, we know we love it. There are shirts made. Maybe this movie was just too redundant.

