Love and Other Drugs

Firstly, hot DAMN Jake Gyllenhaal and Anne Hathaway. I know they didn’t really intend to make anyone feel inadequate but these two look so effortlessly gorgeous in this film that it’s impossible not to mention. As a straight girl who has placed Jake G at the top of her “list” for a few years now, I was partial to the male nudity, but Anne looked pretty bangin’ too. And yet none of the shots of them naked, or having sex for that matter, seemed gratuitous and showy. They weren’t all oiled up and glamoured out. Each shot represented a stage in their relationship: discovery, expression, frustration, relief, whatever. It meant something.

As much as I wanted to be, I wasn’t actually crazy about this film. I think it told a beautiful story, and I think the acting was great, but there wasn’t a true reason to root for these characters just because you sort of knew they were going to end up together anyway. And of course, as is standard in rom-coms, the leading man had a less-than-average-looking sidekick/best friend/brother. Weak. Plus, the ending was really cheesy and optimistic. Maybe I’m growing jaded and hardened in my old age, but I expect a little more out of romance stories these days. This isn’t a standard chick flick, though it is one at its core, but it still had enough remnants of one to make me cringe occasionally. It’s just that seeing Jake G in the nude made me forget often enough to enjoy myself.

The part of the story that really did strike me was Anne’s character, Maggie Murdoch. She’s dealing with a condition that strikes most people when they’re old, and that is some weird, confusing, unfair shit to experience. And, yes, while it was a chick flick idealistic world, it was nice for a second to imagine that same world, where a guy as dreamy as Jake G might reconsider his playboy ways and opt to care for someone who will end up needing him more than he needs her. Or nice for me, anyway. And I did like that the Pfizer storyline actually made the drug companies look both good and bad for all the right and wrong reasons. We saw how they sell drugs not as remedies but as profits, and yet how someone might take up the art of pharmaceutical sales because it’s profitable and they’re good at it. It all made sense in that context.

I liked this movie, but I did feel a little let down. Where were the challenges later in life? Where were the big relationship milestones? Where was the growth out of the 20s? Maybe the movie wasn’t supposed to be about those things, but I left wanting more of their story. I suppose I’ll have to make it up in my head. But that might be kind of fun, so it’s a win-win in the end.

