Revolutionary Road

On the bright side, the score for this film was hauntingly beautiful. On the dark side, this was maybe the most depressing movie I’ve ever watched.

I decided to sit through it because I had faith that Leo and Kate would come through for me, somehow. And I suppose they did with their acting jobs. The two of them really are phenomenal, especially together, and I’m proud to be among the generation that’s been able to watch their careers skyrocket. But this movie was not enjoyable to watch in any sense. The characters they played were wholly unlikable, selfish, boring, mundane, closed-off, and sad. As the movie progressed, and as the marriage of Frank and April Wheeler unraveled, I kept thinking about how unfortunately real this must all seem, and how we don’t go to movies to watch this.

I think movies are supposed to be an escape. Maybe that’s idealistic or naive of me, but I prefer not to be bombarded with reminders of how shitty life can be. Of course, I don’t want to live in a fantasy world, either, but I think the best movies balance the two extremes of life by showing that characters are able to navigate realistically. Or maybe that’s just what I enjoy. In any case, this movie kept getting sadder and sadder, with the only bright spots coming when the Wheeler’s friends brought over their mentally disturbed son to highlight brutal truths about the pathos of their lives. It was all very confrontational and disturbing and, moreover, I couldn’t figure out why two phenomenal actors like Winslet and DiCaprio would want to immerse themselves in such a draining story where children are accessories and life is a burden.

I’m guessing the book was better. But I still don’t understand the point of this movie.

