Despicable Me

My first 3D movie! I admit I was a little scared about the idea of seeing this, or anything, in 3D because I’m a total wuss and I don’t even like roller coasters. But you know what? I loved this. Especially the roller coaster scene.

When you watch a 3D movie, especially with a critical bent, you have to take into consideration just how each scene was tailored for a 3D viewing. Stuff that wouldn’t normally have a focus has a HUGE focus, scenes that might be irrelevant in another movie are added for effect. But it’s just so much fun!

Gru, as voiced by Steve Carell, and Vector, as voiced by Jason Segel, are lovable villains right off the bat, which makes them unique from a lot of other villians in other kids-esque stories. They move humbly, they’ve got horribly overbearing parents, and they aren’t always on top of their game. And once you see Gru with those three little girls, your heart will basically melt. The animation on those little girls basically makes you want to take them home with you.

But the best part, by far, is the minions. There is a billboard of these minions near where I work, and it makes my day better. Someone got me a gift card with a minion on it that contained no value. I have the minions as my phone background. This is how much I love the minions. They might be the cutest minions in the world and, yes, I considered comparing them to others. Their voices, their hair, their one or two eyes, their little overalls and gloves. They are the leading reason to see this movie.

It’s a simple, cute story. It’s no Up, but nothing is or has been for awhile. So enjoy some Steve Carell and helium-induced voices. It’s worth it.

