Extras, Series 1

So, Ricky Gervais is a genius.

I mean, you probably already knew that, but he is. This show wasn’t even that much fun to watch (I’m not as big a fan of tongue-in-cheek humor), but that first sentence I wrote is the lasting impression it leaves. This man knows how to craft an incredibly awkward, real situation and make you laugh until you pee yourself. Hopefully almost.

Anyway, I don’t think I’ll be continuing with this show, but again, that’s not the point. It had so many glorious moments; it’s just that I don’t particularly care about the characters enough to find out what happens to them next (a theme I think you’ll find in all my posts where I describe shows I’m done with). But, that being said, Ricky Gervais and Ashley Jensen are so cute and innocent together. They show that a man and a woman can really be friends without sexual tension, without relationship drama, and they can treat one another as equals. It’s so damn refreshing. And seeing Jensen as a fresh-faced newbie (not a Scottish one-liner rocket as she was on Accidentally on Purpose) was also so exciting. She’s so talented. I hope she does more things.

If you liked the UK Office, and you’re a fan of celebrities making fun of themselves, you’ll get a big laugh out of this. Kate Winslet says you need to play a mental to get an Oscar, Ben Stiller waxes poetic about how brilliant “Dodgeball” was, and Patrick Stewart talks about bare-breasted women. But that’s just a taste. It’s a short-lived, fun, wild ride of awkward, and it’s classic Gervais.

