Brick

This DVD has been sitting on top of my pile o’books for MONTHS. Gathering dust. All that. I’m not sure why it took me so long to watch it finally, but my inkling that I wasn’t going to enjoy it was somewhat correct. It’s not that I didn’t appreciate itβ€”I did. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is miles above his costars in talent, charisma, depth. But I just didn’t get the point of the movie. It was dark, there were drugs involved, a kid was skipping school, some chick got killed, etc. I think it may be that I started it months ago and ended it now, and that also I’ve gotten used to the timing of television over the past year, so I don’t have the patience for the ‘one-hour turning point’ or the more exaggerated nature of movie character development (two hours v. several seasons makes a world of difference, people). In any case, it’s an interesting story, one with slightly too much wit to make it believable, but it’s filmed beautifully. Stunningly, in fact. At the very least, it’s worth it to see the intricate camera work and the gritty, raw performance of JGL. But when all is said and done, I prefer him in (500). Come on. He wears vests in that movie.

