One Tree Hill, Season 1

Well, this is one of those shows that I’m slightly embarrassed to admit I totally love. I watched because, hey, it was on On Demand and I was supposed to cover it for work and I remembered seeing it on before or after my weekly Gilmore Girls addiction in high school and college, so what the heck, type of thing. And then I totally got sucked in!

I interviewed James Lafferty the other day for TV.com and asked him why he thinks fans are so devoted to the show, because it’s got one of those more rabid fan bases, and he seemed to think it was something about the way Mark Schwahn tells the story. Perhaps that’s true. I can’t put my finger on it. The acting isn’t amazing, there’s no real humor, so what’s the appeal? Personally, I think it’s the story.

I’ve never heard of anything quite like it. Two brothers from different mothers, growing up in the same town. The father they share is an evil asshole. They all share a love and talent for basketball. It’s fascinating. And it doesn’t hurt that everyone is hot. And they all share pretty good chemistry even if they aren’t the best actors.

I just watched Dawson’s Creek and wasn’t that impressed, but I think I’m going to stick with OTH. I think it’s because I see potential in all these characters. I also know where it’s going, and I think it’s cool that they’re all struggling even though they’re all good looking and aware of it. They use their appearance as a crutch but they feel guilty about it. I only had one major qualm, and it was with the season finale. WTF. Haley and Nathan got married? It’s lame but it’s enough of a cliffhanger to keep me coming back. Oh, and any chance of seeing Chad Michael Murray with his shirt off is reason enough too.

