It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Seasons 1 & 2

My first thought? Damn, these assholes are obnoxious. My second? Damn, these assholes are hilarious.

It’s like this: If you can get past the offensiveness, the arrogance, and the yelling (my GOD, the yelling), this show is incredible. It’s so simple. And ironic and brilliant. You just have to accept it for what it is. I’m still not a huge fan of the yelling, but I respect it, because it must be quite difficult to act when you’re yelling and the guy in the scene with you is yelling, too. Props.

Charlie Day, Rob McElhenney, and Glenn Howerton are total geniuses. Especially Rob. The guy created the show on his own merits and was rewarded for his creativity. How sweet is that? My heart always gets warm when I find out that people in showbusiness are still rewarded for talent, and it gets even warmer when I find out that showbusiness lets them keep their integrity. FX lets the Sunny guys do basically whatever they want, and they helped them go from a low-budget no-nothing to a cult classic with Danny DeVito on board.

In the special features I found out that DeVito’s scenes were all shot in a period of 20 days, which is nucking futs. These guys work HARD. And each episode is hilarious. I don’t know how they do it.

Favorite episodes include “Charlie Gets Crippled” and the Jihad one, I forget what it’s called. I’m not saying I’d want to hang out with these people, but I kind of want to hang out with these people. Just for a second. To see what their minds are like. Then I’d like them to break character and hang out with them, because the three guys seem like total badasses. And Kaitlin Olson deserves an Emmy for her work on this show. Why is she getting snubbed? Jeez. Does everything have to be handed to the networks?

