An Education

First off, major girl crush on Carey Mulligan + major regular crush on Peter Sarsgaard = major eye-candy movie. Damn those two are attractive. Onto less vain things: This movie was not nearly as epic as I had expected. It was one of those thins where I had heard “such great things about it” (FUCK I hate that phrase) and I knew it was an indie film and it was playing at the Osio so, ergo, it must be good. But wait a minute. This film is about a girl who falls for an older man, and screws up her life, then realizes he’s not the man she thought he was, then gets out of it and everything is ok. I’m pretty sure I’ve heard that story before so many times that it actually makes me disappointed in the Oscars for not pointing this out. That being said (I also hate that phrase), the acting was superb. So maybe there’s something more to be said about it. Which is what I will do now. Say more.

The story of an older man sweeping a younger woman off her feet is one story, but the older man being a perfect gentleman, and an almost completely honest one (about his profession, at least), is another. It’s obvious why Jenny falls for David. He makes her shitty life interesting. He takes her away from her boxed-in parents and turns her into an adult. While with him, she essentially goes through all the emotions of an adult, or at least someone who experiences falling in love at a more mature age than 16, and by the time their whirlwind romance comes to a screeching halt, she’s exhausted all of her feelings and ready to try being a teenager again. Which brings me to the other thing I hated about this movie: The ending.

Why did they spend so much damn time on their romance? And then like 45 seconds of un-dialogued montage at the very end of the film on Jenny “working hard to get into Oxford”? That part is really important! And I wanted to learn more about the teacher that helped her, if that’s indeed what the teacher did. I honestly couldn’t tell, since it was so damn ambiguous.

The only saving graces were Carey, Peter, and the always-charming Alfred Molina, who as it turns out is British. Didn’t know that. Anywho, Peter Sarsgaard has that “I’m really threatening” look about him, doesn’t he? And it’s kind of hot, isn’t it? He’s a great actor. I think I need to see more movies that contain him. And the Best Actress nomination was well-deserved. Carey Mulligan is freaking adorable, and she transitioned so effortlessly into the various stages of maturity and immaturity in this movie. She has a young face, yet an old soul. And now she has short hair which makes me like her even more. I hope she continues to take roles in good movies, and more original ones at that.

