(I Gave Up On) Firefly

Don’t hate me. I tried it.

I didn’t hate it! I just didn’t love it. I think a large part of the let-down for me was, well, the huge build-up it received from most of my friends. You see, a few months ago I discovered the show Castle, which was assigned to me to cover for work but which I ended up liking very much. Nathan Fillion is one of the best actors on TV right now, and I made this preference known to a ton of people, and they all subsequently recommended Firefly like it was God’s own word or something. Needless to say, I was rather excited about watching it.

I really love Captain Mal (and now Rick Castle’s Halloween costume is not lost on me anymore), and Alan Tudyk is so damn good, and Morena Baccarin’s whore character was actually pretty intriguing, but the show gave me no other reason to really care about the Serenity crew. I don’t know why. It was an interesting enough story, I suppose, but I couldn’t connect to any of the characters. And Captain Mal really wasn’t enough for me to return to the show after four episodes, which I think is a respectable try. Perhaps I’ll give it another whirl someday.

I’ve always found it hard to connect to science fiction. I like Star Wars just fine, but that’s about all I can take. I’ve never had any interest in BSG (though I will give it a try at some point), Star Trek, any of the Stargate stuff on Syfy, or even Lost. I’m in a very passive process of getting through Lost, but I’m not in any hurry. The only sci-fi show I can handle is Fringe, which I love. I’d actually appreciate some input here. What is it about sci-fi that makes it so beloved? How do people get drawn to it? I’ve tried, and I just don’t seem to care, yet there’s something so intriguing about it that makes me want to care.

