How I Met Your Mother, Season 1

I didn’t think it was possible to recreate the chemistry of friendship after a show like Friends—and then I watched HIMYM, and I fell in love. I fell in love with Ted Mosby, Robin Scherbatsky, Marshall Erickson, Lily Aldrin, and Barney Stinson. I fell in love with how normal they all are, how their jokes are witty sometimes and lame other times, how they hang out in a bar and make fun of each other and care about each other and laugh at each other’s jokes.

This show is best viewed in chronological order unlike many sitcoms (which are standalone) but very much like Friends. The show reuses inside jokes, scenes, lines, everything; it’s like you’re a member of the MacLaren’s gang, and it’s a great place to be. And the premise is so creative and unique! Telling a story from the future. I wish I could be Ted Mosby’s wife.

There’s not much else to say. It is a sitcom, after all. 22 minutes isn’t an incredible amount of time to tell a story, and the stories aren’t always incredibly profound. But sometimes they are, and more than anything it’s just incredibly comforting to know how normal other people are. Even though these characters are fictional, they were written by people who seem so incredibly normal. And Ted’s grandiose romantic gestures, Robin’s dogs, Lily and Marshall’s cuteness, and Barney’s promiscuity are all endearing in their own way. I’d like to be apart of this group. The actors are so damn believable as a group of friends, it’s a work of art in casting. Jason Segel, a Juddapatowian, deserves some major credit for playing this role. He’s completely the opposite of the frat boy that his movies make him out to be. Cobie Smulders is so beautiful yet so real. Alyson Hannigan has a signature style that comes out in every role, yet she’s still so versatile as a comedian. And Neil Patrick Harris. He’s the straightest man I’ve ever seen in a suit, and he’s gay. What a phenomenal actor and performer he is.

Hell, I’d like to be the mother. Josh Radnor is a hottie. Except, where I am in the series, he’s just gotten ahold of Robin. And even though I know what happens, I’m so excited for him.

