Sleepless in Seattle

I think I’m supposed to finish this movie and fall in love with Tom Hanks, Meg Ryan, Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan, and Jonah (the kid). Oh, and Nora Ephron for writing it or whatever. I can say that I fell in love with the kid. Even when kids are portrayed as wise beyond their years (Rico Rodriguez, I’m looking at you), I find them charming. Entertaining. All that stuff. Kids are rarely that poignant in real life (well, they are, but the mumble a lot more so it doesn’t seem like they’re being brilliant), so it’s always fun to escape to a world where they are well-spoken. Anyhow, the movie was cute and all, but I thought I would LOVE it and I wasn’t THAT into it. The final scene was adorable, yeah, okay. But I actually thought this movie would have a lot more, uh, sex in it? I’m not saying I wanted that. I just expected it, I guess, given how high it’s ranked on the “Greatest Chick Flick of All Time” list.

The whole idea of falling in love with someone before you see them is very intriguing, but I thought it was weird that she went all the way to Seattle to meet him. And then was right there. And didn’t say anything. That’s creepy. And Rosie O’Donnell? I can’t figure out if she actually acts in the movies she’s in, or if she just plays her annoying self in different costumes. The woman gets more irritating each year.

Anyway, good but not great. I dunno. B-? I’ve never rated movies before, but for some reason I felt compelled to do so just then. At least I’m not getting all Pitchfork on you with an intricate point system. Everyone understands letter grades, right?

