It’s Complicated

Okay, okay. Meryl Streep is awesome. So is Alec Baldwin. And I’ve always been a huge Steve Martin fan, thanks to my dad, who played me records of his banjo-infused comedy routines from the 70s. But I find it hard to believe that a chick flick starring Hollywood’s middle-aged finest can receive multiple Golden Globe nominations—OH WAIT. MERYL STREEP IS IN IT. THAT MUST BE IT.

Seriously!?!? It was a cute movie, but it wasn’t life-changing or anything. Jesus. And, like I said, Meryl Streep is great. In fact, my dad and I came to the conclusion that she may be the greatest actress of all time. But that doesn’t mean that she’s in the greatest movies of all time. This was a pretty average movie, I think. It just happened to star great people. John Krasinski was in it, so eye candy for all ages. But let’s be honest. It wasn’t a heartbreaking work of staggering genius. I don’t even think Meryl gives that much of a shit about the awards she wins, so it’s beyond me why they keep insisting on nominating her for the good, the bad, and the ugly roles. She’s had more good than bad or ugly, but she probably knows the difference herself.

Someone tell me why this movie is more profound than I think it is.

