Talking God

Maybe I’ve hit a rut or something. I don’t know. But I do know that I enjoyed this book the least of the four I was supposed to read for Linguistics 155AC back in the fall. I felt like Tony Hillerman was trying to channel Ernest Hemingway, except about Native Americans, and it only worked to a certain extent. Everything was short and succinct and it all left a lot to the imagination, but not always in a good way. Rather consciously, actually.

The thing is, the story was good. But the alternation way of telling a story (chapters alternate between 2-3 stories) is just confusing sometimes. All the characters seemed to similar to distinguish. Plus the Native American aspect of it seemed secondary to the murder mystery part of it.

Whatever. What’s done is done. I’m not going to expel energy on something I wasn’t particularly fond of anyway. Onto the next book!

