Naked

Look, I read this like a year ago and never wrote about it. Who knows why. My mom has the copy of the book now, and is enjoying it, so I’m going to recall my brief memories and recommendations from my brain. And Wikipedia. Don’t judge.

The title/last story of this book MAKES THIS BOOK. It’s about Sedaris’ experience in a nudist colony, and I need not say anything more. It’s one of the funniest stories I’ve ever read, and unfortunately, the rest of the book sort of pales in comparison to its grand finale.

I found Sedaris’ adolescence/twentysomething years amusing, but hard to relate to. He admits he was a total deadbeat, which is really cool and rare among current and former deadbeats. But when push comes to shove, I hate reading about (and knowing, for that matter) really unmotivated people. I’m not super-motivated. I’m just not UNmotivated. It’s a downer encountering someone with a chronic case of “apathy” like Sedaris — thank goodness his wit stays intact in the descriptions of these years, otherwise I might have put the book down. His stories, though, real or not, make for some entertaining prose, as always. Damn, there were a lot of commas in that last sentence. Anyway, stone cutting? Road trips with paraplegics? Hospital aide? Sometimes, in certain moments, I wish my life were that exciting. Then again, I wouldn’t be able to record these moments like David does. What a shame.

