The Hangover

Can I tell you a secret? You can’t tell anyone.

Okay, ready? Here goes: I LOVED The Hangover. The first step is admitting you have a problem, or something.

Can I just say that I HATE bro/dude movies? Old School, Knocked Up and Pineapple Express come to mind in the hate category. Just to clarify, though, I loved The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Anchorman and Wedding Crashers. Maybe I’m just moody, then. But can we get back to the topic at hand?

The Hangover is so ridiculous that it’s awesome. It’s so awesome that you feel like you’re the one hungover from seeing it, as you piece together the story from the thick haze of memories (Although I could have done without the stupid Asian mafia guy. Creepy character + racist stereotype ≠ joke). It’s a brilliant way to tell the story, though. The three dudes, Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms and Zach Gaifianakis, work perfectly together, though the G-man (abbreviated for obvious reasons/CHANGE YOUR NAME MAN) was a little too weird for my tastes. But he was one third of the hilarious trifecta, and without him it wouldn’t have worked. What also wouldn’t have worked is if they hadn’t shot the men walking down the hallway of their hotel in slow motion. Before I go any further, let me direct your attention right over here. Before this movie, Bradley Cooper was the heartless douchebag from Wedding Crashers and He’s Just Not That Into You. He had short hair, no shame and stupid clothes. That is all in the past now, because the aforementioned scene in this movie contains Cooper in a black suit with a black shirt and black shoes. Oh, and long hair. So, sex on a stick.

No one in this film is more attractive than Cooper, least of all the G-man. And as much as I love Ed Helms (rit-dit-dit-dit-de-dooooooooo!!!!), he’s not really a hot man, but he’s so damn funny, so it’s cool. Especially when he is missing a tooth in the movie, which is alluded to in the trailer. Other things that are still hilarious, even after seeing the trailer: Mike Tyson, Mike Tyson singing Phil Collins’ “In the Air,” the guys in possession of Mike Tyson’s tiger, and the baby. I’ll really leave the rest to you.

