Death at a Funeral

There’s not too much to say about this one, except that my father was right. It’s hysterical. It doesn’t sound hysterical; it sounds about as appealing as “Hellboy II” or whatever, except more depressing, but it’s f’ing hysterical. I don’t know if this is going to sound weird, but I sort of feel like I’ve been on a foreign film kick recently, what with the Spanish and the Italian, and I honestly feel like this film perpetuates that pattern. It’s a compliment, not an elitist statement, trust me. The British sense of humor is almost foreign to most Americans, and it’s so pleasant to see it. Refreshing, really.

The physical comedy, the caricatures, the maturity of that one dude from “Love Actually” who wanted to bang American chicksβ€”this movie has it all. It tells a simple story, one that’s best left alone until you actually see the film, and it does it so well. I’m still trying to think of the moral, if there even is one, but for once I don’t really care. I didn’t feel that way when watching “Burn After Reading” but this one is just so pleasant and lighthearted (indeed) that I think its true purpose is to make you chuckle. Pay attention to the actors; you’ll see them in characters you never thought possible from them.

I simply can say no more. It’ll ruin it.

One comment

  1. Cat · June 11, 2009

    Omg this movie is soo good! I seriously laughed my ass off!

Comments are closed.