Gonzo: The Life and Work of Dr. Hunter S. Thompson

Okay, I confess I watched this way too long ago. Probably too long ago to blog decently about. But I want to say that this is a good movie, mostly for people who are interested in awesome/quirky journalism. I’m one of those people who hate, hate, HATED “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas,” so seeing this sort of gave me a new appreciation for just how weird this guy set out to be. I still hate that movie, though. Sorry.

It was amazing to see all the celebs, historians, journalists and just plain fans who assembled to contribute their two cents about this man. Johnny Depp was at the forefront, as usual, knowing something cool before you do, but Depp did channel Thompson in the aforementioned film. I guess it’s okay.

On a personal note, I hope I one day might emulate Thompson’s style. He made it okay to editorialize as a journalist, and that’s something most critics covet without acknowledging how he pioneered the industry. I think it’s great. And I wanted to tell you that.

One comment

  1. Great writing · June 9, 2013

    Hunter S. Thompson was a great, if crazy writer who lived the adventures he wrote about, in magazines like Rolling Stone, and in books like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

Comments are closed.