David Archuleta, “Crush”

So what if it’s old news. So what if he was on American Idol. So what if he sings formulaic songs.

HE’S FUCKING GREAT.

I love this guy. I want to meet him and declare my love to him, but I think I’d be in line behind girls half my age. That’s sort of beside the point, though. The point is that this pint-size cutie is by far the most talented person in his age group. His voice has aged about 20 years beyond his body, and it’s truly gorgeous. He’s also the most humble, good-natured shoowbiz greenie I’ve seen in a long time. Cheers to raw, real talent. Soak it in, people.

And American Idol totally knew what they were doing when they chose the Other David. It’s totally cool with me. I mean, he had that rocker edge thing going, and that’s different for the AI track. D-Arch is going to make it anyway, so it’s not a big deal. The songs he sings are perfect for him, too. Right at his range and his emotional level. He’s not singing about t & a, he’s singing about a crush. YEAH.

