Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2

Let me start off by admitting that I have a girl crush on Blake Lively. It’s true. Observe:

Anyway. So I admit I totally loved the first one of these movies. How can you not? The cast contained my OTHER girl crush, Alexis Bledel, and the plot was just so goddamn WHOLESOME. UGH. Too cute for words. I do have a pretty predictable tendency, though, to hate sequels with a vengeance. They usually suck. In my book, the only good sequels, ever, have been The Godfather, Part II and Meet the Fockers. I realize those are on two different planets, but consider that they both contain Robert De Niro. [Side note: I haven’t seen Analyze That yet, so I’ll get back to you and see if De Niro got that third-times-a-charm thing going].

Whoa. Anyway. So, again, Sisterhood 2. Super cute. Maybe not on the level of the two sequels I mentioned earlier, but certainly visually appealing. The Grecian scenery was so intensely beautiful, it makes me want to go there. Actually, that’s a lie. Any mention of “Greek,” whether it be in the fraternity-sorority realm or the “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” realm, makes me want to go there. I’m kind of a pushover.

I definitely think this franchise’s formula tries hard to be down-to-earth, and major props for that. They’ve got one girl dating an Asian guy, another that struggles with her weight, another without a solid family life, and another dealing with heavyosity family traditions. All pretty believable. Yeah. Again, throw me a bone here because I haven’t seen it in awhile, but I think it was cute. “Cute” being the operative word.

