The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Hot damn, school has this way of…getting in the way of regular blog updates. And now, my blog has a way of allowing me to procrastinate on a paper.

I finished Me Talk Pretty One Day more quickly than I had intended, and wasn’t quite ready for To Kill A Mockingbird (my only other English option in Belgium) so my friend lent me this book, which had been given to her by her American host mother, and it quickly went from simple to intriguing. Mark Haddon, to put it bluntly, created a complex world with simple language, and as a general rule of thumb, the last person to do that extremely well was Hemingway.

I’m not putting Haddon on Hemingway’s page, just to clarify, because Β no one can write about being drunk and thinking about girlsin basic declarative sentences like him, but Haddon definitely had something going on. Perhaps the standout challenge of writing this book was the narrator he chose. Christopher, a child, is also autistic, and because of his condition, has an utterly different way of looking at the world. What we find mundane, he finds interesting, and what we find important, he finds irrelevant. While I’m not up to date on the details, because it’s been four months since I finished the book, I will say that it was a quick, addicting, and eye-opening read.

