I Am Legend

Hey, guess what? Will Smith made an alien movie! And it’s almost summer!

This man seriously needs to branch out of his genre niche. Seriously, take a look at his corpus. It’s ridiculous. Amidst the overwhelming sci-fi favoritism, there are little pockets of hope for this man. You know what I’m talking about: Ali, The Pursuit of Happyness…wait, that’s all I’ve got. Well, whatever. The point is, Will Smith is very comfortable around green screens, animation, alien figments of his imagination, et cetera. I mean, sure, he was in Hitch and The Legend of Bagger Vance, those roles didn’t really help him to branch out of his supernatural shell.

The consensus, at least from my friends, surrounding this movie was that “it was pretty awesome” or “well, at least the dog was cute.” I have beef with both of these statements. “It was pretty awesome” doesn’t say a whole hell of a lot. I think the story was pretty interesting myself, all sci-fi plots have a deeply buried Special Place in my heart, when they are approachable and un-geeky enough that I can understand them. But I need people to be more specific. Anyway, on to the dog thing. Yes, the dog was adorable. But the more amazing aspects of her role in the film were how Will Smith interacted comfortably with her, and how phenomenally well she was trained.

I’m just a little miffed with his script selection, that’s all. He’s great at what he does, he’s hot, he’s successful, but he and Hugh Grant and George Clooney and Ben Stiller and blah blah blah have fallen in deep typecasting holes, and they are hopelessly far from getting out of them. It’s unfortunate.

