No Country for Old Men

I saw this film on Friday night, and I’m still fully convinced that Javier Bardem Anton Chigurh is lurking around my neighborhood. It’s frightening as all hell how intensely scary Bardem became, considering that at the Oscars he was absolutely adorable and attractive and eloquent and, well, happy. But too much has already been said about how much he was troubled by playing this role, so I won’t get into it.

The Bee Cees (Brothers Coen, for those of you who don’t watch enough VH1 and thus don’t know what 70s disco band’s name’s inception I just referenced) definitely deserved some major snaps for this one, especially in the areas of cinematography and adapted screenplay (Oh, wait, they won BEST PICTURE. Right. My bad.). I’m still convinced that There Will Be Blood was the best picture of the year, but I respect the Academy’s decision. I know that America isn’t ready to award the golden statue to the 3-hour-long-opus-of-the-year on a regular basis (case in point: Babel totally got snubbed last year.) Plus, everyone loves Jews, especially when they’re in business together and they’re brilliant at what they do.

I found the casting of Tommy Lee and J-Brol Jr. to be interesting but pleasantly surprising. TLJ can’t really pull off a role where he’s not speaking with a Texan accent, so most of the time he unfortunately becomes a caricature of himself despite being amazingly talented. However, he was SO right for this role. He was the perfect age, the perfect look, the perfect everything, and I bet the Coens knew it. Plus, I admit I had no idea that Josh Brolin (a) was that talented and (b) could be made into an average-looking dude. He’s got ridiculously unfair genes, so I also give major props to the makeup people.

What say ye?

