Bachelorette

Note to self, and to other Party Down fans: Lizzy Caplan + Adam Scott ≠ Casey + Henry in this movie. Not even close. The two have some of the best on-screen chemistry I’ve seen in a long time, but not even their natural hilariousness could have saved this movie. Sorry to say it, but Bachelorette was a massive disappointment.

My friend told me about a review she read that said that all the individual parts of the movie were great, and though hearing this tainted my view, I have to say that I agree. Kirsten Dunst had this Marissa Cooper/Sookie Stackhouse/Tracy Flick thing worked out really well, and her character, Regan, brought out a viciousness in her normally demure persona that we’ve never seen before. Isla Fisher was also great as Katie, the drunk druggie party girl, but we’ve seen her in that role before. And the aforementioned Caplan, well, she can do no wrong in my book. Her Jenna was equal parts drunk druggie, except with more of a rocker vibe and a conscience. Let’s not forget about Rebel Wilson, who played the betrothed, and completely butchered her American accent. It’s fine, though, because she’s awesome. And James Marsden is now this guy forever to me, so seeing him play a pompous ass was mostly just off-putting. Kyle Bornheimer, Andrew Rannells… dope and GBF. Stereotypes. Nothing else.

The problem wasn’t even any of them, though, and the three leading ladies were also very obvious blonde, redhead, and brunette caricatures respectively. It was… the script. I think? It seemed to me, once we established that these ladies were three parts Dee and zero parts sweet, as they managed to royally screw up their friend’s wedding dress 24 hours before the ceremony, that they’d try to regain some of that dignity they lost. No bother. Sure, they [spoiler alert] fixed the dress and all that, but none of it was sincere. None of them changed or whatever. None of them were clever. None of them surprised us. None of them ever gave us audience members a chance to root for their well-being, a chance to see any of their redeeming qualities. And whereas a character like Dee thrives in those situations because she’s funny, the Bachelorettes drown in empty, awkward dialogue. I disliked this movie for the same reason I dislike most of Will Ferrell’s movies: I have no desire to see immature people do immature stuff. I see that every day, in life, walking around. It comes as no surprise, then, that this was produced by his own Gary Sanchez Productions.

Back to that adorable Adam Scott. While he didn’t save the movie with Caplan, he almost managed to do so on his own, delivering a reference to an SNL skit that’s very dear to my heart. I’ll cherish it always, even if I don’t cherish this movie.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 827 other followers

